Picture
I’m not sure why I got on this topic, but here is what I found out when I did a little research about superstitions.

Everyone has that one thing they believe in, whether it’s that the 13th of Friday is bad luck day or that a four leaf clover is lucky. I even remember when I was little; I was told that if you stepped on a crack you will break your mother’s back. I avoid all the cracks that I could that day, and when I stepped on one I would feel so bad and rush home to see if my mom was ok.

Just the other day, we had my mom’s best friend over and she brought her kids over. Being the awesome people we were, we started to play hide-and-go-seek in the dark on the upstairs floor. Since it was dark, a boy ran into the painting my dad made and it fell to the floor. Because my dad gets really protective over the painting, we all started to yell at him for knocking it over. My mom heard us, and all but screamed at the boy as he was about to hang it on the wall. She told him that she would hang it up and then proceeded to tell him that if a painting falls off the wall and someone who doesn’t live in the house puts it back up, someone in the household will die. I didn’t know what to say to that when I heard her say it.

 I read something on the internet about how people believe in superstitions because they either need something to believe in. Maybe they are just lazy and say because I have a lucky rabbit’s foot I will win the competition. Or even, that they want to feel in control and/or they feel insecure and just need that one thing to believe in.

 On the same webpage, I read that superstitions are just placebos. For example, when we believe something is bad luck, we subconsciously forget all the good things that happen and only focus on the bad. Our mind tricks us into believing it worked, when actually it was all you. It’s like that one suite life on deck episode (for all those cool people who used to watch that show) where Bailey tricked London by saying that this one perfume would make her smart. It actually helped London, even though it was just regular perfume.

 I know that superstitions are probably not real, but I still believe in them just in case something does go wrong.

For more information click the link below.
http://www.2knowmyself.com/why_do_people_believe_in_superstitions 

lakshan
3/7/2013 11:31:24 pm

do you believe in superstitions

Reply
Shannon
3/11/2013 04:38:07 am

Some of them I do. I can't think of any at the top of my head, but I do.

Reply
sam
3/7/2013 11:34:30 pm

this is so true, i've heard of so many superstitions and i always wonder where they come from

Reply
Brittany Wilson
3/14/2013 12:22:02 pm

Wow I actually have never heard of the painting superstition they are all pretty interesting but I don't really believe in them myself .

Reply
3/18/2013 07:24:57 am

I personally don't believe in any superstitions. I believe that everything happens for a reason and couldn't be influenced by something unrelated like breaking a mirror or seeing a black cat.

Reply
Brady
3/19/2013 11:03:25 pm

really well written, its funny how some of the superstitions we use to believe inare so silly now and we don't understand why

Reply



Leave a Reply.