Picture
 Fear is an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat. There are many different fears that people can have; either rational or irrational that can come about from a traumatizing moment. Some people are afraid of things like: Bugs (spiders), heights, the dark, thunderstorms, etc. There are countless amounts of fears out there in the world. Everybody is afraid of one thing or another, what are you afraid of?

 One of my biggest fears is public speaking. Not stage fright per say because I am totally fine with performing a Synchro routine in front of people, though. I just get really nervous when I have to present a project in front of the class that I tend to stutter and loose my train of thought. The fear is getting better I do have to admit, but it’s still an issue. 
 
I tell this story to most people when I talk about my fear; I had an English presentation last year where I was so scared that my knees started to shake, and throughout the whole entire presentation I was stuttering like a maniac and got lost reading the paper I had to help me. That was probably the worst case of my fear. 

Something that did help me a little bit though was drama class. It got me to open up and relax a bit when I was speaking. It helped me because somehow I was able to convince my history teacher that I wasn’t nervous, when actually I was freaking out inside. 

So, what are your fears? And how do try and get over them? If you are comfortable with sharing, feel free to comment!

2/28/2013 09:52:38 pm

We should make you read this blog post in front of the class, you know, to help you get over your fear. But this is very well written, good job!

Reply
2/28/2013 10:29:41 pm

Thanks Matt! I don't know about reading it in front of the class though...

Reply
hannah
2/28/2013 10:33:11 pm

I think another thing about fear is that you're not alone. I know many other people that are afraid of public speaking too! I think it's great that you are conquering it! maybe the more you speak in public, the more you'll feel comfortable?

Reply
2/28/2013 10:49:34 pm

What am I afraid of? Bugs, all types, the dark, clowns, heights, old shaky elevators...so pretty much all of the above!

Reply
2/28/2013 10:59:52 pm

Haha I agree with old shaky elevators! You can never tell how stable they are or if they are going to hold!

Reply
3/16/2013 11:07:07 pm

Fears are awful and sadly, unavoidable. And everywhere! So many unique fears these days.. Me? I'm terrified of falling from high places, I'm also afraid of insects and reptiles and amphibians, anything like that really except for ordinary animals, which I love. I'm afraid of the dark, in unfamiliar surroundings, because I can't picture everything around me and that gets me thinking of what could be there. Not fun at all when I have to go use the washroom in the middle of the night... What I'm most afraid about is tragedy. It's scary and saddening and unavoidable, like fear, and THAT scares me. I wouldn't say speaking in front of people is frightening, because personally I don't care what they have to think of me, just how the teacher does, and that's my only concern. But I'm sorry that happened to you. Public speaking's never been a problem for me, so I just can't understand how someone becomes nervous.
Sadly, I can't really overcome my fears. I avoid tall places, places where there's lots of bugs (except the fact I love nature), and I don't think about tragedy, I think about life and enjoying now.

Reply
Patricia
3/20/2013 05:56:11 am

When i was younger, actually no, even now at being 15, i am still afraid of my basement. I'm not afraid of anyone else's basement just mine. If i ever needed to go downstairs to get a drink or something i would sprint quickly back up the stairs and have to turn all the lights back off, from turning every single one on. Haha, scary movies do this to me but i still watch and love them. Awesome blog post and i love the idea of the topic fears. Keep up the good work Shannon :)

Reply
Sam
5/1/2013 11:06:28 pm

I find it extremely interesting to hear about what other people fear, be it rational or irrational, because it seems they often have some cause or point of origin. For me personally, I am terrified of getting needles (fairly normal I think) but I am also monumentally perturbed when someone touches my veins. I give blame to being bitten on the arm by a rottweiler when I was quite young, and hearing the adults caution about the chances of it hitting a vein. Whatever the reason, I get squeamish and uncomfortable when a hand is placed on my wrist, or the backside of my elbow, and even worse when it comes time for a needle.

Reply



Leave a Reply.