"A friend is one who knows you and loves you just the same." ~ Elbert Hubbard
Picture
I think this is a question everyone should consider. That everyone should know the true meaning of 'Friends' (and no not the TV show!).

We all have friends. Even if sometimes you don't feel like you do. Let's see... (Activate thinking face) We have friends from when you were younger that you don't really talk to much anymore. We have friends from those camps you went to over the summer that live so far away from you. We have the friends that had to move away, which caused you to have a mental break down when they told you they were leaving. We have friends from sports/music/clubs you were a part of. Those friends that are your families friends and you can't seem to get rid of them (Just Kidding!! haha love you guys!). And don't forget those crazy school friends. The people who help make those boring classes on your schedule more fun, who you spend six hours a day, five days a week with. See there are a lot of friends out there.


When I searched up the word friend on Urban Dictionary, I found there are many different definitions.  So instead of giving you an all inspiring quote that I found on the internet about how friends are missing pieces in our soul and what not (which is true, I did find that somewhere), I have decided to make up my own list with a mixture of all of definitions.


A friend is someone…

- Who knows you for the real you and stays just the same.   
- You can count on to make you smile when you are feeling down.
- Who you can trust with almost anything and can trust you back the same.
- Who hates to see you hurt, just as much as you hate to see them hurt. 
- Who has shared your brightest moments and your saddest moments.        
- You feel safe with and feel the need to be their protector. 
- Who you can act completely insane with and not feel embarrassed. 
 

Now a list that relates to my friends and maybe you people reading.
A friend is someone...

- Who understands you fandom pain.
- That shares food with you.
- You share inside jokes with.
- That will be accompanying you to the mental institute.
- That will sing Disney music out load and just as dramatic as you.
- That is the reason why I have no sanity in the first place.
- Who will randomly start sing classical rock music with you.
- Who has pictures of you that could be used as blackmail against you.
- Who got you addicted to your fandom.
- Who is the reason behind your stupid actions.
- Who gives you the weirdest nicknames and you don't even care.
- Who knows all your pet peeves and still does them.
- Who will continue on with your weird conversation like it was an everyday thing.

s.manery
5/8/2013 03:12:09 am

This is wonderfully worded, and it seems you put a good amount of thought into what you were saying. The personal commentary regarding your friends I found entertaining and really connected you to your work.

Reply
Whitley E
5/8/2013 03:13:46 am

I really enjoyed reading this post! It definitely made me reflect on all the people who at one time or another I have considered a friend. Good job and I liked how you incorporated definitions. Well done!

Reply
Kira
5/9/2013 02:18:54 am

I love this! I've had all the friends that you talked about at the beginning. I've had friends that were only really my friends because we were neighbours, a best friend who moved to france, and all the other types or conditions of friends that you mentioned.

I think the definitions that you put together make a criteria that is really hard to meet, but maybe thats the point. If you want to be a good friend you have to put some effort into it and be there for your friend no matter what.

I LOVE your personal definition, I do all those things with my best friend, right down to belting out classic rock or disney songs while driving. (Not to mention eating all the food in their house!) Thanks for posting this, it made me think about all the people out there that are my friends, because like you said, sometimes it feels like no one's there, but we all have friends.

Reply
Megan M
5/9/2013 02:20:22 am

I think you made this flow really well, you write from a very honest perspective and mention things that a lot of people can relate to

Reply



Leave a Reply.