Picture
Ok so a few days ago, our future forum class watch a documentary. It was called Generation Jobless, and I would just like to say it sort of scared me a bit. In a nutshell the documentary was about Post Secondary school students not being able to find a job.

This got me thinking. What about me? Will I be one of those students that didn’t get a job or a job that they want? I seriously hope not.

 Another thing that it got me think about is what will I want to pursue in the future, career wise? I have thought of this many
times this year. I still have not found that one thing yet. Yes I have many ideas. But am I any closer to narrowing it down to one? Not even close to it. 
 
Because I still don’t know, I decided to try one of my choices out to see if I like it. So, I signed up for the co-op program at
my school. Just a few days ago, I received a letter saying I got accepted into the program. This means next year in grade 11, I will be working part time trying out one of the many job choices I had. 
 
In Generation Jobless, many people didn’t have a chance to get experience for the career they want. Which leaves them as inters so they can get the experience. Co-op can help me get the experience I need, if I do truly decide that this is the job I want in the future. 
 
So a few of you might be curious as to what this mystery job I am doing for co-op is. The career I will be working at is
somewhere in graphic design. I found that I always liked designing things for all the different projects I have done for school. Also, I find myself to be artistic which will definitely help with graphic design. Do you know what’s weird? I never really thought about working in graphic design as a career before this year. Yes I heard about it and thought it was cool, but I never looked into it before.

It’s funny, it was actually course I took last semester that actually got me thinking about careers in graphic design. The
course I took was Communication Technology. In the course we touched upon photography, 2D animation, 3D animation, audio, video editing, game design, and graphic design. I loved every unit we did and actually contemplated on doing my
co-op for one of the other stuff we did like animation.

 Com Tech taught me many good skills and how to use different computer programs that most jobs in these fields use, like the
different adobe programs. And by learning all these technology skills it helps me prepare for when I am working. So that instead of having to learn how to use the programs at the job, I can get comfortable with using them ahead of time. 
 

Now that I said the job that interests me, it is time to see how many jobs there are available in graphic design. In Generation
Jobless, it talked about some fields that have more people looking for a job there then there are positions. Jobs in teaching for example have too many people qualified for the job, but not so many job openings. Luckily, from what I have gathered from the co-op teacher and online, there are quite a few jobs in graphic design. Looking at the possible placements for co-op can attest to that (like 4 or 5 pages full of placements for graphic design).


  The documentary Generation Jobless has helped me figure out what is needed to be done to ensure I will escape the Generation Jobless. So that I can get the job I want after I finish the secondary education I chose to go to. I hope more students are able to learn what they need for their job choice before they graduate.



 So, what are you thinking about pursuing in the future job wise? Are you planned for the future, or are you still figuring things out?


sam
5/6/2013 11:12:47 pm

wow this is a great post. I agree this video really gets you thinking about what type of job you want to do depending on what is available.

Reply



Leave a Reply.