Picture
    This idea came to me while I was listening to a really random playlist I made. It is filled with some of my favourite songs. Some of these songs are by: Maroon 5, The Script, Ron Pope, Ed Sheeran, P!nk, Edwin McClain, Hedley, songs from Tarzan, etc. (this just to list a few) 

    Yes I know...’Tarzan? Really? You have Disney music on your iPod?’, well you know what? Yes, yes I do have Disney music. The Tarzan sound track is by the way incredible and sung by Phil Collins. Who I might add, is an amazing guitar play and singer. But, I do have the Broadway version of The Lion King on there as well... 

    As you can tell from the crazy playlist, I like a variety of different types of music. Music wise, I like: Pop, Rock, General Rock, some R&B/soul, a little bit of the Electronic music, Dance, some Country, Alternative, Indie, Instrumental, and some Classical stuff too.  

    One type of music I am not really fond of is rap. Rap has taken over music these days. There are so many songs that have an amazing chorus, but are full of raping! Like the song Airplanes, I love the chorus but I don’t really like the verses. I mean, yes some are ok, but all the others? I can only really take rap in small doses.  

    One thing I have found is that my parents influenced my taste in music a lot. I grew up listening to old rock and old pop music. Long trips in the car, my parents would plan out the different CDs they were going to bring. My mom has this one CD that she always plays every time we travel by car on our trips. Some parents let their kids chose the radio station in the car, but with me... I have to beg and pled to get them to change it. But, most of the time I don’t even care if my parents have their station playing though, because I am most likely singing along too.  

    My dad has gotten me into a lot of different band and artists that he has been playing around me so long that I can sing along to most of them. These bands and artists include: The Who (dad’s favourite), Pink Floyd, Yes, Collective Soul, ELO (Electric Light Orchestra), Jack Johnson, Phil Collins, The old Train albums, Foo Fighters, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Aerosmith, Rolling Stones, The Guess Who, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Goo Goo Dolls, Queen, and so many others I can’t list them all. My dad doesn’t really like all the pop I listen to now, he’d rather his rock. 

    My mom also got me into some artists too. They are: Elton John, Janis Joplin, Joan Jett, Billy Joel, and some others I can’t remember at the moment. My mom compared to my dad is more understanding and kind of likes some of the pop songs. 

    When I hear a new song, I always listen for a guitar or piano. I love the sound that the guitar makes whether it is electric or acoustic. I actually always wanted to play the guitar. I know a little, but can only really play songs like Yankee Doodle and Au Clair du Lune that are from the guitar book I have. I also would love to play the piano too. I like these instruments for their sound, as well as the fact that they are the two main instruments people use when writing songs. 

    One of my all time favourite songs is Edwin McClain’s song I’ll Be. It is a beautiful love song that I just can’t not love it love. I first heard it from the movie ‘A Cinderella Story’ actually. A Cinderella Story is one of my favourite movies, even if it is one of those cheesy love stories.  



So what music do you listen to? Have a favourite band or artist?



^^here's the link from where I got the picture: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m3qj05pw8s1rv94oxo1_1280.png

Someone
5/2/2013 01:49:17 am

Great blog :D

Reply
Shannon
5/2/2013 01:58:37 am

Haha thanks, someone (yeah I know who you are)!

Reply
5/3/2013 12:51:32 am

I think the most common genres of music I listen to is indie like WOTE, cause I'm part hipster, and electronic, like Zedd, Swedish House Mafia and Knife Party.

Reply
5/5/2013 10:59:19 pm

Disney music? Why not! The classic Disney movies have arguably some of the best music out there.
But other than that I'd have to say my favorite bands are Owl city, Panic! at the Disco, and Vocaloid. Random at best if I do say so myself. :) great post!

Reply
Shannon
5/6/2013 12:45:10 am

Why thank you! Owl City is a good bad. I have them on my ipod too. I haven't really heard of the others, but I will definitely check them out!

Reply
5/18/2013 05:17:42 am

Just warning you Vocaloid is not English. You'll need one with English lyrics. But don't let that turn you off, they are really good.




Leave a Reply.