Picture
Nicknames. I think everyone has at least one nickname. Maybe it’s a name your mother calls you that you may or may not be embarrassed by. It could be a name your friends call you because of something awesome you did. You can have a nickname from people who cannot say your name because it is either a unique name or it’s just really long and is hard to remember. Nicknames can be funny; a name that makes you and your friends laugh. They can be a short form of your name or your name spiced up a bit like Lauren to Lorenzo (A friend from Synchro). 

Some nicknames though can be mean and teasing compared to ones that are harmless and fun. Bullies often use nicknames to tease and ridicule other people, young and old. Mean and nasty nicknames have been known to stick to you and never seems to leave your mind. If you don’t like a nickname, stand up and say that! Don’t just let the person keep teasing you! I stood up when someone was calling me a name I didn’t like, so if I can you can too! 

I know I’m kind of jumping around saying nicknames are good one minute then saying they are bad in another. But, even though they can be mean, nicknames can be great. Some nicknames can define you in a good way. Like if you were a soldier and your name was Ace because of something amazing you did. Wouldn’t you want to be remember as that, as something great because of the nickname?

 Some of my nicknames would be: Shan, Shanaynay, Shanono,Shanoonin, Fitzy, Willis (I don’t know why...), Shan Shan, etc. So as you can see I have many nicknames. Some of them are from school friends, some from my Synchro friends and one is from my mom. Most of the nicknames I mentioned, I still have no idea why I am called that. Willis? I mean seriously. How did that  come to play? Now that’s a question I ponder!

 What are your nicknames? Any weird ones? Feel free to comment your nicknames!



--here is the site where I got the picture^^ : http://bestuff.com/images/images_of_stuff/210x600/giving-funny-nicknames-to-the-people-you-know-207965.jpg?1248336210

lakshan
4/12/2013 12:57:45 am

yeah i have quite a few nicknames as well one of them is L'cash can totally relate good job!!!!

Reply
4/14/2013 08:53:06 am

Thomas: I don't have any nicknames really sometimes I get called tom witch is sorta a nickname but I call my friend George,geo.

Reply
Steph L.
4/14/2013 10:35:50 am

Definitely going to start calling you Shanaynay now, haha :P Not many people at Grand know this but my actually name is Thuy(people pronounce it like 'T'), just thought I'd share. But a few of my nicknames are Stevie & Stephy!

Reply
Mr. Riche
4/14/2013 01:08:42 pm

I think I might have a nickname-giving problem. I've already given my son, Liam, who is not even two years old, at least ten nicknames (L-Train, Scaramouche, Little Man, Lima Bean, Babooshkalah, etc.--I'm not even sure how to spell them all, they're so ridiculous). The motivation for me is affection and boredom, I believe (ie) I have more nicknames for the people I spend the most time with and love and I come up with nicknames just for something new and more interesting to say.

I like that weighed in on the more serious side of nicknames. A nasty nickname can be so harmful because it becomes part of the identity of a person for their peers.

Reply
4/14/2013 11:04:44 pm

Great job on your blog post! I think you did a fantastic job explaining why you think nicknames have a positive and negative impact.

Reply
Leanne
4/14/2013 11:05:47 pm

This is an interesting blog, I agree that some nicknames are hard to explain. Among mine are Turf Ass, and Tire Face... Yeah. I never went to St. Elizabeth elementary school but one teacher had such a reputation for giving nicknames to his students that the nicknames got around to people outside of their school. From the rumours, I've heard that n the first day of class he introduces himself as "Daddy Chrysler" and says that they are not a class but a family, and proceeds to give every student a nickname.

Reply
Fergy
4/14/2013 11:08:00 pm

I profoundly liked this blog. I liked its depth and authenticity the likes of which I have yet to find often in other people's blogs.

You had apologized for being sporadic with the presentation of your ideas. I would say don't worry about it- it keeps things fresh, and the readewr engaged. Well done, and keep up the good work.

Reply
fergy
4/14/2013 11:12:38 pm

k... just goona comment here cause its the most recent blog and i figured... I'll generalize. I'm very impressed by all your blogs. They all have great depth and touch upon authentic and unique issues. I have yet to find such a blog that deals with such topics with such consistency... again well done. Finally I've found a blog outside of my class that is worth keeping up with.

-B

Reply
Shannon
4/14/2013 11:26:49 pm

Haha that's funny, I thought the same thing about your blog. I love your writing and when ever I get the chance I check out your blog.

Reply



Leave a Reply.